Flag of Nicaragua

Nicaragua Flag

Nicaragua Flag

The current flag that represents the country of Nicaragua was officially adopted in August of 1971. The country’s independence from Spain happened in 1821. At that time, Nicaragua joined the other countries in Central America to form the United Provinces of Central America. This federation was soon dissolved. When this happened, it made Nicaragua an independent state. During this time, Nicaragua used a flag that was blue and white. This ended in 1854. The first flag Nicaragua had after the federation dissolved was horizontal and a tricolor of scarlet, white and yellow. This flag did not last very long. The country experienced civil wars followed by North American military interventions and more. During this time, a number of flags were created and quickly replaced. In 1908, the official Nicaraguan flag was re-instated. This version included the country’s coat of arms.

The coat of arms on the Nicaraguan flag contains a triangle, volcanoes, rising sun, Cap of Liberty as well as a rainbow. It also contains the name of the state, Republica de Nicaragua. During the 1800s, the title used was Provincias Unidas del Centro de America. The current flag is very similar to the previous flag except for the text around the coat of arms.

world flags

The Nicaraguan flag has one white and two horizontal bands of color. The national coat of arms is featured in its center. The two blue bands represent the two oceans on Nicaragua’s borders. The white band represents the pureness of the country as well as the Nicaraguan territory. The flag’s coat of arms has five volcanoes that represent the original five member states. The cap of liberty represents national freedom. The rainbows and rays of the sun symbolize the country’s bright future. The coat of arms is in the shape of a triangle. This stands for equality.

The blue and white pattern found on the Nicaragua flag is something common with all Central American countries. It has been kept over from the time when Nicaragua was part of the United Provinces of Central America. All of the Central American countries got their independence at the same time in 1821. The other countries kept the blue and white pattern but found a way to make their flags unique. Guatemala has the stripes on their flag turned vertically. Costa Rica put a red stripe in the middle of their flag. Like Nicaragua, the country of El Salvador put a coat of arms in the center of their flag.