Flag of the Federated States of Micronesia

Micronesia, Federated States Flag

Micronesia, Federated States Flag

There are four states that joined together to make up the island chain of the Federated States of Micronesia. These four states are Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei, and Kosrae. All together the Federated States of Micronesia make up about 607 islands in the Pacific Ocean. Micronesia was originally a part of the Territory of Trust Nations established by the United Nations. At the time, they were administered by the United States. In 1979, they became a sovereign nation after they declared their independence. The independence was attained on November 3, 1986 by the Compact of Free Association.

The Federated States of Micronesia have had four different flags. From 1947 until they became a part of the Territory of Trust Nations, they flew the United Nations flag. The flag features a globe of the earth as if looking down upon it. It shows all of the continents, with the exception of Antarctica. Surrounding the globe are two olive branches representing peace. The background of the flag is powder blue.

american pride

This flag flew until 1965. In 1965, they began to use the flag of the Trust Nations of the Pacific Islands. This flag was blue with six five pointed stars arranged in the middle of the flag in a circle. The six stars represented the six districts of the Trust Nations. The blue background represented loyalty and freedom.

Also used during this time was the flag of the United States of America. Since the United States were administers of the Federated States of Micronesia, the flag was at time used for official purposes. The United States flag was used intermittently between 1944 and 1986.

The current Micronesia flag was officially adopted on November 30, 1978. However, they did not obtain their freedom until 1986, when the flag was confirmed as the national flag. The design of the flag drew inspiration from previous flags before it. Like the flag of the United Nations, the Federated States of Micronesia is powder blue at its base. The blue represents the water of the Pacific Ocean, which surrounds their island chain nation.

In the center of the flag sits four five-pointed stars in white. Like both the United States flag and the Trust Nations of the Pacific Islands flag, each of these stars represents a state of the Micronesia. The four stars are set in a diamond formation.