Flag of Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan Flag

Kyrgyzstan Flag

The Kyrgyzstan Flag, beautifully colored in red and yellow, symbolizes a nation of strength. The red background is said to signify bravery and valor, while the yellow center stands for peace and wealth within the Kyrgyz Republic.

At the center of the Kyrgyz Republic’s flag, is a sun with forty equal rays surrounding. These forty rays are a symbol of the forty Kyrgyz tribes that were bonded by the great warrior, Manas. In 840 AD, Manas united these forty tribes to fight and defeat their common enemy; the Uyghurs. It has also been said that Manas used the color red on his banner, inspiring the Kyrgyz Republic to adopt red as their national color.

american pride

In the center of the sun, is a red circle with two sets of three lines that crisscross in the middle. This figure represents a tunduk, which is the wooden pinnacle of the traditional Kyrgyz Yurt. The Yurt is a transportable home used by early nomadic clans in Central Asia. This tunduk symbolizes the family home, and also the universe for the Kyrgyz people.

Before Kyrgyzstan became an independent nation in 1991, it was under control of the Soviet Union and held two prior flags. From 1936 to 1952, what was known as the Kirghiz Soviet Socialist Republics flag was red with gold Russian lettering that said “Kyrghyz Soviet Socialist Republic” and “Kirgizkaja Soviet Socialist Republic” in the top left corner.

In 1952, while still under United Soviet Socialist Republic (USSR) reign, the Flag of the Kirghiz Soviet Socialist Republic was changed. The notoriously recognized hammer and sickle with the gold star above it was added to the flag which is now nationally recognized as a symbol of communism. Additionally, a blue and white stripe was added down the center of the flag.

With the impending fall of the United Soviet Socialist Republic in 1991, what was known as the Republic of Kyrgyzstan (changed in 1990) seceded from the Soviet Union and joined the new Commonwealth of Independent States. On March 3rd, 1992 the, what is now referred to as the Kyrgyz Republic, adopted its current flag.